Menu Close

Our Structure

Governance and Structure

The Lifesaving Society Manitoba is governed by an elected volunteer Board of Directors. The Society’s office staff provide support from the Society’s headquarters at 100-383 Provencher Boulevard.

Board of Directors

The board is composed of 8 members who govern in accordance with the Society’s mission and bylaws. Directors are elected for a 2-year term by the Society’s membership at the annual general meeting. No person or body external to the Society is entitled to appoint any directors. Directors appoint all committee chairs and members. They also review and approve all activity centre objectives.

Board of Directors

Ashley Walus - President of the Lifesaving Society Manitoba Board

Ashley Walus – Chair and National Member Representative

Ashley Walus is the President of the Board of Directors for Lifesaving Society Manitoba and the Society’s National Member Representative. She received her first Lifesaving Society certification in 1999 and went on to become a swimming instructor, lifeguard, lifesaving instructor, and lifesaving examiner in Winnipeg. She currently works in healthcare, and after completing her MBA was looking to give back to the Society in a more formal capacity. Since joining the Board in 2020, she has been involved in governance work along with developing board recruitment processes and workflows.

Ashley strongly believes in the Society’s mission to prevent drowning and water-related injury as a key public health strategy in our province. She wants all Manitobans to be able to enjoy themselves in, on, and around water and knows that the work the Society does to provide swimming, lifesaving, and lifeguarding training, leadership, and public education helps keep people safe when enjoying our many natural and man-made waterways. She and the Board work cohesively with the staff to set strategic direction for Lifesaving Society Manitoba and look forward to positive growth in the organization in the years ahead.

  • Phil Dobson – Director
  • Sarah Dyck – Director
  • Zapphira Neuschwander – Director
  • Kayla Saarinen – Director and National Board Member
  • Jon Sorokowski – Director
  • Dr. Kelvin Williamson – Director
  • Jordan Kunzelman – Treasurer